BLOOMSBURY GROUP AT CHARLESTON INSPIRED PATTERN DESIGN – PART 3: PRINTING

Just a few days to go until the the Pattern workshop now, so I spent an hour or so experimenting with printing some of the printing blocks I made in response to my visit to Charleston a few weeks ago.

I started with a few test prints:

IMG_6233 IMG_6234

Then I experimented with ink coverage and tested to see if printing without the block would be successful:

IMG_6236

Next, the repeat patterns! I tried both ordered and more random designs. Firstly on paper:

IMG_6232IMG_6235

and next onto fabric:

IMG_6237 IMG_6238 IMG_6239

Finally, a test onto a canvas bag. Newspaper was sandwiched between the layers. I’ll use this as the basis for more patterns and colours – larger circles printed randomly over the spirals would make this design more dynamic.

IMG_6241

I can’t wait for Tuesday to see what everyone else comes up with!

Leave a Reply

